Justice League Dark Writer Eulogizes the DC Animated Universe

After six years and fifteen films, the DC Animated Movie Universe comes to a close with Justice League Dark: Apokolips War, as the iconic heroes launch a desperate final mission to defeat Darkseid once and for all.

Screenwriter Ernie Altbacker has developed four films in the DCAMU, starting with the original Justice League Dark in 2017 and culminating with Apokolips War. In a forthcoming exclusive interview with CBR, Altbacker reflected on how the shared animated cinematic universe ends while teasing something new emerging from it.

RELATED: Justice League Dark: Apokolips War’s Christopher Gorham Talks Playing Flash

“I think that the way we ended it… it’s really like a tough balancing act: It ends something on a bittersweet yet hopeful note, and I’ll just say, people who are saying, “Oh man, we’re not going to get anymore of these!” …you’re not losing something, you’re gaining something new…” Altbacker hinted.

Starting with 2014’s Justice League: War, the DCAMU primarily featured characters and stories inspired by the New 52 era of DC comics while drawing from older stories and creating its own original tales. With many of the iconic DC heroes meeting their end during Apokolips War, the path is cleared for a new continuity to potentially rise from the ashes.

RELATED: Justice League Dark: Apokolips War’s Jerry O’Connell Looks Back on Superman

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War stars Matt Ryan as John Constantine, Jerry O’Connell as Superman, Taissa Farmiga as Raven, Stuart Allan as Robin, Tony Todd as Darkseid, Jason O’Mara as Batman, Rosario Dawson as Wonder Woman, Shemar Moore as Cyborg, Christopher Gorham as the Flash, Rebecca Romijn as Lois Lane and Rainn Wilson as Lex Luthor. The film is available now digitally and on Blu-ray May 19.

Justice League Dark: Apokolips War screenwriter Ernie Altbacker reflected on the DCAMU's legacy while teasing something new.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *