Stepping-Stones-feature

PREVIEW: Visit Peopod Farm In Lucy Knisley's Stepping Stones

Moving away from friends and loved ones is hard, but it’s harder when moving means adapting to a whole new way of life. For Jen, the protagonist in Lucy Knisley’s middle-grade graphic novel Stepping Stones, leaving the city to live on a farm with her mom, her mom’s new boyfriend and her new step-sisters isn’t easy — but there are some bright spots, although they may be hard to see.

Stepping Stones is the first graphic novel in a new trilogy by Knisley, published by Random House Graphic. The publisher has provided CBR with an exclusive preview of Stepping Stones for its release on May 5. You can read the pages below, alongside the comic’s solicitation information.

Related: When Your Favorite Comics Publishers Will Release New Issues in Stores

  • Written and illustrated by Lucy Knisley
  • This contemporary middle-grade graphic novel about family and belonging from New York Times bestselling author Lucy Knisley is a perfect read for fans of Awkward and Be Prepared. Jen is used to not getting what she wants. So suddenly moving the country and getting new stepsisters shouldn’t be too much of a surprise. Jen did not want to leave the city. She did not want to move to a farm with her mom and her mom’s new boyfriend, Walter. She did not want to leave her friends and her dad. Most of all, Jen did not want to get new “sisters,” Andy and Reese.As if learning new chores on Peapod Farm wasn’t hard enough, having to deal with perfect-at-everything Andy might be the last straw for Jen. Besides cleaning the chicken coop, trying to keep up with the customers at the local farmers’ market, and missing her old life, Jen has to deal with her own insecurities about this new family . . . and where she fits in.New York Times bestselling author Lucy Knisley brings to life a story inspired from her own childhood in an amazing journey of unlikely friends, sisters, and home.
  • On sale May 5
  • Full color, 224 pages, $20.99

Keep Reading: How Spider-Gwen Became Ghost-Spider – and Why

Read an extended preview of Lucy Knisley's middle-grade graphic novel, Stepping Stones, which hits stores May 5 from Random House Graphic.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *